Championship 2002

Jerez de la Frontera 2002
Jerez de la Frontera Spain


For the first time, the WEG included seven disciplines with Reining making a strong and most appreciated first appearance. The great spectator attendance and the attention from the media brought considerable benefits to the host city as well as the whole province. Moreover, Andalusia, the Spanish province where Jerez is located, is true horse country, enjoying a rich equestrian tradition going back centuries. Jerez is the city of the Real Escuela Andaluza del Arte Equestre (Royal Andalusian School of Equestrian Art), a major ambassador for the area.

In sporting terms, the event was simply excellent. Three different venues hosted the different events, including the local football stadium for Jumping and Dressage and a covered arena for the Vaulting and Reining.

Amazing Frenchman, Eric Navet, already had four WEG medals in his trophy cabinet; team and individual gold from Stockholm in 1990 and team silvers from The Hague in 1994 and Rome in 1998. The 2002 WEG yet again provided him with two more medals; the first for finishing second individually and the other medal for his team, for whom his contribution was invaluable.

Ireland's Dermott Lennon took the world by surprise when the quiet farmer's son claimed the individual honours with his great mare Liscalgot, while Sweden's Helena Lundback became the second woman, following in the footsteps of Gail Greenough (Aachen 1986), to earn a place in the change-horse final with her little mare Mynta. Mares were to the fore again in the individual final with Liscalgot and Mynta joined by American rider Peter Wylde's Fein Cera, but Navet's Dollar du Murier was one of the four super-stallions that did French horse-breeding proud as they soared to victory in the team competition.

Key figures

Dressage : 65 participants (24 countries)
Jumping : 97 participants (37 countries)
Eventing : 80 participants – 50 completed (21 countries)
Driving : 43 participants (17 countries)
Endurance : 150 participants – 64 completed (36 countries)
Reining : 49 participants – 29 completed (11 countries)
Vaulting : 67 participants (20 countries)

A Total of 48 Countries participated in the 2002 World Equestrian Games.




Rank Nationalities Gold Silver Bronze Total
1 Germany Germany
2 France France
3 United states United states
4 Netherlands Netherlands
5 Ireland Ireland

See all medals

Prize list


Individual Rider Horse
Ireland IE Dermot Lennon Liscalgot
France FR Eric Navet Dollar du Murier Hauts de Seine
United states US Peter Wylde Fein Cera
Team Rider Horse
France FR
Eric LEVALLOISDiamant de Semilly Ecolit)
Reynald ANGOTTlaloc M
Gilles Bertran de BALANDACrocus Graverie
Eric NAVETDollar du Murier hts de Seine
Sweden SE
Peter ERIKSSONVDL Cardento 933
Royne ZETTERMANRichmont Park
Helena LUNDBÄCKUtfors Mynta
Malin BARYARDH&M; Butterfly Flip
Belgium BE
Philippe LEJEUNE Nabab de Reve
Stanny van PAESSCHENO de Pomme
Peter POSTELMANSOleander
Jos LansinkAK Caridor Z


Individual Rider Horse
Germany DE Nadine Capellmann Farbenfroh
Spain ES Beatriz Ferrer-Salat Beauvalais
Germany DE Ulla Salzgeber Rusty 47
Team Rider Horse
Germany DE
Nadine CAPELLMANNFarbenroth
Klaus HUSENBERTHPiccolino
Ann-Kathrin LinsenhoffRenoir-Unicef
United states US
Deborah MCDONALD Brentine
Lisa WILCOXRelevant
Susan BLINKSFlim Flam
Guenter SeidelNikolaus 7
Spain ES
Beatriz FERRER-SALATBeauvalais
Rafael Soto ANDRADEInvasor
Juan Antonio Jimenz COBOGuizo
Ignacio Rambla ALGARINGranadero


Individual Rider Horse
France FR Jean Teulère Espoir de la Mare
Great Britain GB Jeanette Brakewell Over To You
Finland FI Piia Pantsu Ypäjä Karuso
Team Rider Horse
United states US
John WILLIAMS Carrick
Kimberly VINOSKI
David O’CONNORGiltedge
Amy TRYONPoggio II
France FR
Cédric LYARD Fine Merveille
Jean TEULÈREEspoir de la Mare
Jean-Luc FORCECrocus Jacob
Didier COURRÈGESFree Style Ene HN
Great Britain GB
Jeanette BRAKEWELL Over To You
Pippa FUNNELLSupreme Rock
William FOX-PITTTamarillo
Leslie LAWShear H20


Individual Rider Horse
Netherlands NL Ysbrand Chardon
Germany DE Christoph Sandmann
Sweden SE Tomas Eriksson
Team Rider Horse
Netherlands NL
United states US
Chester WEBER
Germany DE
Christoph SANDMANN
Rainer DUEN
Michael FREUND


Individual Rider Horse
United arab emirates AE Sheikh. Ahmed bin Mohammed al Maktoum Bowman
Italy IT Antonio Rosi Alex Raggio di Sole
France FR Sunny Demedy Castlebar Treaty
Team Rider Horse
France FR
Emmanuelle BELLEFROIDAntinea de Nau
Jean-Philippe FRANCESDjellab*HN
Sunny DEMEDYFifi du Bagnas
Maya Killa PerringerardVaroussa
Italy IT
Roberto BUSIAl Jasir
Antonio ROSIAlex Raggio di Sole
Fausto FIORUCCIFaris Jabar
Mario CUTOLOZyad el Asii
Australia AU
Kristie MCGAFFIN Castelbar Macleod
Penelope TOFT Bremervale Justice
Margaret WADECastelbar Treaty


Individual Rider Horse
Germany DE Nadia Zulow
Denmark DK Rikke Laumann
Germany DE Ines Juckstow


Individual Rider Horse
United states US Shawn Flarida San Jo Freckless
United states US Tom McCutcheon Conquistador Whiz
France FR Shawna Sapergia Pretty Much Eagle
Team Rider Horse
United states US
Tom MCCUTCHEONConquistador Whiz
Scott MCCUTCHEONInwhizable
Shawn FLARIDASan Jo Freckless
Craig SCHMERSALTidal Wave Jack
Canada CA
François GAUTHIER Ghost Buster Baby
Jason GRIMSHAWListo Pollito Lena
Shawna SAPERGIAPretty Much Eagle
Patrice ST-ONGESlip Me Another Kiss
Italy IT
Dario CARMIGNANI Frozen Sailor
Adriano MEACCIJodi Tamara
Nic CORDIOLIRS Little Red Jaba
Marco MANZISpanish Snapper
Discover history FEI
Discover FEI History
Back to the year list